Week: 24 & 25 Tomato Madness

When it rains it pours! And it’s raining tomatoes in my garden. The first that began to ripen were the cherry tomatoes.

IMG_20130803_075631

 

Then came the grafted San Marzano and regular Roma tomatoes. The grafted San Marzano tomatoes were said to be beefsteak in size but still have the rich taste of a Roma.  I grew both varieties from seedlings and both by sight and taste, I cannot tell the difference.  They’re equally delicious.

20130810_133918 IMG_20130810_133159

Since the tomato supply is never ending I decided to can these tomatoes in the same way I did last year, pureed. Read all about how to can tomatoes here. I’m hoping to maybe can some salsa. Though it’s much more time consuming than pureeing tomatoes in a food processor. If you’ve got any good recipes feel free to share!

   IMG_20130811_160631 

You’ll never guess what else just popped up in my garden…green beans! (and more tomatoes) I can’t wait to munch on these. Maybe I’ll even freeze some!

1176232_10100232126808170_2124791028_n

I leave you with a picture of Pepper chilling on the couch….See you next time!

1373498923461

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in August and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

