Kim’s 2013 Veggie Garden: Pond in a Pot!

This past week I had replanted the veggie garden (Pics to come) and added a container watergarden to the backyard. It’s super easy to do if you’ve got a small space, or if you’re like me and don’t want to commit to maintain a large water garden.

First I bought a DIY Container Fountain Kit and ceramic pot at Stauffers of Kissel Hill Garden Center. The LED Lit Container  Fountain Kit has everything you need to get started. It offers three different water pattern options as well as extensions to make the spout longer if you have a particularily deep container. There is also light that glows at night, so that’s pretty cool!

20130517_182026

I put together the unit, which took all of 3 minutes and then strung it through a hole in the container. To plug up the hole there is an epoxy that you can mix together and use to plug in holes. The box does suggest you use gloves, John just used a screwdriver. 20130517_181911 20130517_181916

20130517_182206

Once you’ve got your epoxy all mixed up you can fill in the hole with chord. If you don’t have a hole in your container that the plug fits through, you can always drill one and fill it in later.

Let the epoxydry overnight.

20130517_182403

The next day just add water and plug in. Adjust your spray as you’d like it, this is the water bell pattern. It can be adjusted to be wider, but this seemed just right for me. This will stay plugged in and running all summer long. Mosquitos won’t nest in this as the water is consistently moving so have no fear of that!

20130518_140835

Check back next week when I showcase my re-planted garden and Dad’s summer garden.

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in May and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

