Week 9/10 2013: Kim’s Destroyed Veggie Garden

Since we’ve been having really beautiful weather, we decided to plant the garden one week before Mother’s Day.  The rule of thumb is that one should wait until right after Mother’s Day to avoid all frost, but since the plants are so healthy and leggy, we put them out.

20130506_183126

This includes the herb hydroponics. As you can see in this photo one of the herbs did not grow. I think this was due to lack of sunlight the way the box was angled in our kitchen window. Hopefully it being outside should help the seeds germinate. It is still plugged in with the air pump.

20130506_183057

The spring mesculin mix lettuce, spinach and bok choy are about ready to harvest! I am thinning out out carrot and beet rows.

20130506_183111

John was my assistant in planting, yes that’s an official title in my world. We noticed that the roots of our seedlings were poking through the cocoa pots and it really was time to plant!

20130506_183122 20130506_183227

If there’s any advice I can give about planting your seedlings , it would be to dig a hole that just covers the pot/root ball so that the stem isn’t buried. That and wear stylish gloves while you do it.

20130506_18331120130506_183346

There’s a small bet going on between John and I about the Red Cherry pictured here. John believes that this plant is going to die because in the process of moving it, the stem snapped. However, I think that plants are more resilient than we give them credit for, so I’m rooting (pun intended) for it to live. We will see!

20130506_183943

Please note John’s watering technique, it’s our irrigation system that he’s using to spray. Am I the only person that finds this hilarious?

20130506_18464720130506_18481420130506_184826

Anywho, the seedlings were planted and ready to go!

But this isn’t when the story ends…. it’s when it gets SCARY.

Four days after I wrote this, pre- publishing, I got a call on my cell phone from John saying, I’m calling to prepare you for when you get home. We had a hail storm at the house.

IMAG0436

What does this mean for our garden? DEVISTATION! When I arrived I saw piles of ice near in the yard. I was dumbfounded. It’s May! It’s supposed to be mild but nice outside NOT hailing on my baby plants! What’s next?! Frogs, locusts, more of that awful William Hung She Bangs song again?! (I mean that’s in my version of the end of the world…)

IMAG0430

The hydroponics kits overflowed (despite the drainage holes) onto the patio and the seedlings and existing plants have been pummeled. Some ripped with holes in them. The peppers are completely gone. The larget leaf zucchini plants look less messed up:

IMAG0434

In a few days I’ll take inventory to see what will survive. 😦 Though I have a feeling I’ll be buying everything new from Stauffers of Kissel Hill Garden Centers. The good news, this years devistation was not from Hurricane Pepper.

Did you have any hail at your home?

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in May. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 9/10 2013: Kim’s Destroyed Veggie Garden

  1. Pingback: 2013 Week 11: Pepper is Digging the Potatoes | Kim's Veggie Garden

Leave a Reply

