2013 Garden Week 8: This Beat is Hydro-Ponic

This past week the seedlings have grown a little more, both inside and outside. We had some freezing nights so we threw a sheet over the ones outside. They seem to have survived. Speaking of survival, it looks as if my cucumbers and broccoli aren’t going to make it.

20130421_081818 20130421_081813

The broccoli got pretty leggy and then the cucumber shriveled up. What’s up with that guys?! Looks like I’ll have to get some seedlings that are already started. 😛

This past week I got a Hydro Picker Hydroponic Raised-Bed Gardening System. It’s a great way to grow inside all year long. I figured that I could plant herbs in there to startand if this worked out I could always try other veggies like tomatoes and peppers too!

Anyway in my mind, I would be growing in all water in the windowsil in the kitchen. The kit comes with everything you need, pH testing strips, fertilizer, air pump, coco grow media, cover and simple instructions.

IMG_0117 IMG_0121 IMG_0120 IMG_0122

First thing was first you had to soak the cocoa mulch in a 5 gallon bucket of water “overnight” or in my case all day. Pepper was exhausted having to wait for this sludge to dissolve.

IMG_0126 IMG_0128

IMG_0132 IMG_0118

One that was done, we dumped in the “sludge”. This is when it got really messy. John poured it in the empty box while I held it…

IMG_0131

Water and cocoa splattered all over the place, and on us. We probably could’ve strategized it a little better in retrospect.

IMG_0140 IMG_0136

We then added the seeds which are thyme, rosemary, oregano and parsley.:

IMG_0138

The final step was to pour 2 more gallons of water into the tube that would then feed into the bed as the air pumped. For each gallon we a 1/4 teaspoon of the nurtients.

IMG_0139 IMG_0144 IMG_0143

Now it gets even messier… the water went right out of the two small drainage holes on the side. So we had to put towels in the ground and clean up what was going on. I was worried Pepper would try to drink this stuff. Thankfully she didn’t.

IMG_0124

In the end, everything is planted and we’ve got  bucket under the drainage holes to keep from getting all over the kitchen. As soon as the weather clears up, I’m definatley moving this outside since it’s significantly more messy than I had anticipated.

IMG_0147

On a less messy note: I started this hydroponic madness on Sunday, I noticed something spectacular…lilacs are blooming outside! 🙂

IMG_20130421_080754

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in April, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

