2013 Garden Week 7: Growing

The outdoor seeds we planted and bulbs are happily growing with the warm and rainy weather we’ve had. It seems like April Showers will bring May flowers/salads 🙂 Here’s a little photo tour

Even the nectarine tree is flowering.

20130414_114118

You can see all the seedlings popping up right in a row! 

 

 

20130413_162102

The tater tower has sprouts juuuust popping out.

  20130413_162124

 

 

 

And even more importantly, I’ll have Lilacs in a few weeks! Last year we only had one shrub with purple flowers, but John planted two more at the end of season so we will have more blooms soon. The name of the ones he planted are Miss Kim Lilacs! Clearly meant to be.

 

 

20130413_162153

And in other news, We filled up the rest of the bed with soil. John brought home something like 30 – 40lb bags in his truck. A storm was rolling in soon so I abandoned all heels and strapped on my sneaks for emergency bag transportation and spreading of soil. We were certainly working as a team! lol

 

 

20130411_181637

There’s not much else to report on my end other than I did manage to re-paint our shutters over the weekend as well. I like the new look though I will admit I should’ve waited until afternoon to paint as the sun would’ve been on me, instead of just clouds and wind.

20130414_10464220130414_113536

Next week I’ll be using my hydroponics kit to grow herbs indoors!  Have you ever grown plants hydroponically (is that even a word?)?

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in April, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

