2013 Garden Week #6: Seedlings and Sunshine

This past week the weather has warmed up to almost 80 degrees! Though that would be perfect for my tomatoes, peppers and other seedlings…I’m not ready to move the plant outside just yet. 🙂 The one zucchini and  one cucumber seedling are both getting weird spots on their leaves. See picture:

20130409_060656 20130409_060639

I’m not sure what that means. So I’m going to Ask the Garden Guy at Stauffers of Kissel Hill. Maybe I’m over watering them?? I’ve also thinned out a lot of my seedlings so that there is only one or two sprouts in each pot. I learned from this Seed Starting How to Video from Stauffers that you’re supposed to only have one seedling per pot.

Whoops! I certainly did not execute that method in the past. lol I think I was going with the more is better concept. More Seedlings = more food. Yay! Not the case. Another weird looking veggie I started in the Broccoli. They’re getting pretty leggy. I’m afriad to thin them out any more since they’re so fragile. This is my first year starting broccoli from seed, so maybe they’re supposed to look like this.

20130409_060705

Outside, the seeds and bulbs that were planted last week haven’t sprouted just yet but I think any day now we’ll see shoots. Interestingly enough a critter has been digging in the tater tower. Not eating any of the potatoes, but just diging them up. Mole? Vole? Pepper? Nah, not Pepper! She’s too big to get in the box and besides the size of her, Pepper has been really into sunbathing and not digging.

392717_10100140574379970_530819791_n

To prevent further digging we added chicken wire around the tower. Will it work? Hopefully! Did you plant anything this week?

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in April. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

