2013 Garden Week #5: Planting!

It’s the beginning of April and unlike the Spring-s of garden past, this one is a cold one! We had snow just before Easter and freezing temps at night. Needless to say I’ve been holding off putting my veggies in ground. However, that doesn’t mean I’m not bursting at the seams to get started!!

I nagged my fiance just about twice a week about…”When can we start building the extension to the raised bed” and “What about that “tater tower“? Let me also preface this with by “we” I mean him. šŸ™‚Ā Sometimes I’m allowed to mess with tools, even power tools but typically I leave that to folks more handy.

What’s a tater tower? Here’s a graphic to explain:

tatertower

Anyway, I’m at work when I get an email filled with pictures of what my fiance did on his day off:

Build a tater towerĀ (<~~Read another bloggers how to):

166699_471946566209813_1945208457_n

Dug out the irrigation system from last year:
IMAG0415


Added the extension (we’re now at a 20ft x 8ft bed):

IMAG0416

And he added wire around to create a fence:

IMAG0417

To prevent THIS from happening againĀ (Pepper digging up or laying around in the garden)!

IMAG0413

Just sayin’ after all this work he did for us, I’m further convinced that I’m going to keep him. šŸ˜‰

Anyway, it pained me to have to be at work all day, THEN go workout because I was missing out on all the fun. Once I landed home at 7:30pm I couldn’t hold back. I needed to plant some seeds in ground!

So, in the dusk of early Spring freezing temperaturesĀ we went out and planted:

  • Beets
  • King Carrots
  • Multi colored carrots
  • Bok Choy
  • Spinach
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Mesculin Mix Lettuce
  • Yellow Onions
  • Red Potatoes (in the tater tower! … seriously the words tater tower never get old)

Here’s the potatoes looking “leggy”:

20130401_193457 20130401_193507
20130401_194536 20130401_195041

We added Espoma Garden Tone for fertilizer on the soil. I managed to lose the labeling sticks so we marked where everything was planted with pieces of wood and drew a diagram. Nothing can go wrong with that plan right??????????? ……..

20130401_193534

LOL Honestly, it was getting darker and darker, and colder and colder so we got everything in ground but figured we could go back and label properly later. Here’s hoping we figured right!! Worst case is that I have to taste test everything.

Have you planted your early spring vegetables yet???

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in April. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 Garden Week #5: Planting!

  1. Pingback: 2013 Week 11: Pepper is Digging the Potatoes | Kim's Veggie Garden

Leave a Reply

