2013 Spring Garden: Week 2

Just one week after planting my seeds and I’m already seeing sprouts!

20130301_212130

It’s hard to believe these are coming up fast. The first were the broccoli….

20130301_212247

then a cucumber plant popped up…

20130304_061758

and now a cherry tomato is poking through:

20130304_061803

 

Also this past week I rescued a Basil plant from certain death. *cue Sarah Mclachlan sappy song* I was at the PA Garden Expo and this basil baby was laying by the trash. The cold weather and over watering made the plant look a little worse for wear so it was undesirable to sell. Naturally, I couldn’t let this innocent plant be tossed! I asked if I could take it home, and did.

So at 5:21 p.m., when it was 45 degrees outside, my morning coffee and new Basil buddy hit the road with me! Next stop: My Kitchen.

IMG_20130225_172614

 

 

I set him up in my kitchen window next to the Bonsai Tree. Lots of sun and I can monitor progress. He’s looking better already….perked up with some water. If you have an herb plant that needs rescuing, leave a comment. I’ll be happy to foster it. 🙂

20130304_061812

In other news, the final size of the garden will be 8 x 16 feet. I can’t wait to start building!! And by building I mean watchigh my fiance build everything from the kitchen with Pepper.

Oh and…Pepper got a new dog bed. She’s pretty happy with it:

FB_IMG_13620178225223887

See you next week!!

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in March. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 Spring Garden: Week 2

  1. Pingback: 2013 Week 11: Pepper is Digging the Potatoes | Kim's Veggie Garden

Leave a Reply

