2013 Spring Garden! Week 1

Hello Garden friends! I’ve not posted since October 2012…. So what have I been doing all these months??

Enjoying the holidays with family, adventuring and waiting for another Spring season to arrive. I’m happy to announce that this year we’ll be making the garden even bigger than the last! My first year gardening, I started with a 4×4 raised bed, in year two I upgraded to a 8 x8ft raised bed….this year, we’re going not wider, but longgger!

Next week my fiance and I will determine the final sizes for the garden, and get the new and improved raised bed ready to go. This week I started my seeds…

I’ve been known to use Cow Pots (which I love and would recommend any day), but this year   I’m seeding the plants in Planters Pride 18 Pot Transplant Kit. My understanding is that I can also transplant these planters straight into the ground.

20130224_172120

After busting open the package, I added seed starter soil from Sta-Green and made a small 1/4 inch indent with my pinky to add the seeds.

20130224_171945

What’s being planted this year??

After first frost:

  • Mesculin Mix Lettuce (direct sow)
  • Spinach (direct sow)
  • Beets (direct sow)
  • Carrots (direct sow)
  • Pole Beans (direct sow)
  • Gourmet Carrots AKA Multi colored (direct sow)
  • Russet Potatoes (direct sow)
  • Yellow Onions (direct sow)
  • Rosemary (in container)
  • Basil (direct sow)
  • Parsley  (in container)
  • Mint  (in container)
  • Mayyyyyybeeee Corn (direct sow)

What I seed started this weekend:

  • Broccoli (seeds started inside!)
  • Pepperoncini Peppers (seeds started inside!)
  • Jalapeno Peppers (seeds started inside!)
  • Bell Peppers (seeds started inside!)
  • Zucchini (seeds started inside!)
  • Cucumber (seeds started inside!)
  • Baby Romaine Lettuce (seeds started inside!)

20130224_171922 20130224_171955

20130224_171911

This kit does not come with a lid or any plastic for a greenhouse effect, so we’ll see if I like that. One thing I need to get yet are the sticks for fun labels. As you know I don’t care to name my plants just “cucumber. See the blog post from last year about that here.

20130224_175122

For now my seed babies are sitting in the window, where I’ll talk to them ever day and plead for their growth.

Are you wondering where my pup is? Pepper is  the backbone of the garden team for better or worse, so of course she was watching all the seed starting action tableside.

20130224_172227What are you growing in your veggie garden this year?

 

 

 

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Spring Garden! Week 1

  1. Mike says:

    Good luck with those seedlings Kim! I think we are going to stick with visiting the market to get our veggies…5 kids put a damper on our garden time…however, if we can get the kids involved..we might reopen the garden… and who knows… maybe YOUR blog will give us the needed motivaiton to get out and plant something!

Leave a Reply

