Week 31: MORE Fall Color & Garden Update

Looking for a little MORE fall color? No prob. I’ve got it!

This past weekend I visited my family in the Poconos and it was gorgeous! The autumnal colors were in their full glory…

My father informed me that he will not be growing anything this fall. The summer herbs, peppers and tomatoes are frozen and/or canned.

The herbs turn black when froze. Who knew?

Meanwhile back at the ranch… My plants are doing their best to be completely awesome and delicious. Broccoli is still fighting off cabbage worms, but is looking hearty none the less. Anyone have suggestions on how to make the broccoli come in faster? I’m starving for garden fresh broccoli!!

 

The beets are huge. And because I was so excited, I encouraged my fiance to pull a beet root out. It wasn’t ready! So we just patted it back in ground and hope that it continues to grow.

Again, we got pick happy and I pulled out a few spring onions because I wanted to add them to my garlic-white bean spread.

But what I learned is that these spring onions are still pretty small. They taste good, but will be better once they’re bigger. I food processed what I picked with a can of cannellini beans, garlic, lemon, parsley, salt, pepper and a little sirracha sauce.

I used the spread on a whole wheat pizza with the last of the fresh cherry tomatoes and garden peppers! Plus a few store bought onions and olives. Bake at 400 for about 40 minutes and you’re good to go.

 

Please note that I did not include the coffee machine or wire in the making of this pizza.

Thanks for reading. And if you have any ideas on when I’ll see sprouts in my broccoli or can make it happier in order to grow faster please, let me know 🙂

My mother’s Autumnal door. She’s so fancy!

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in October. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 31: MORE Fall Color & Garden Update

  1. Those pictures really say ‘autumn’ 🙂 Totally laughed at your disclaimer about the wire! That pizza looks really yummy too!

Leave a Reply

