Week 30: Fall Color & End of Summer Crops

Hey there! I hope you’re enjoying the fall weather…I’ve got all kinds of color happening at my house. Most with mums, burning bushes and hydrangea. See pics below:

 

The first frost has come and the temps have been getting below freezing which has officially killed off my tomato plants. R.I.P.!! It was a good tomato run with sauces, salads, dressings and giveaways all summer long. The Pepper plants have also seen their day turning brown and becoming shriveled. RIP my Bowie influenced peppers, sweet or spicy I’m going to miss you!

 

The herbs are having a mixed response to the chilly fall weather. The basil is getting burnt but my parsley feels just fine.

Parsley

I have considered chopping and freezing the reminder of my herbs into ice cube trays with olive oil for cooking this winter. Any thoughts on that?

Burnt Basil

Safe to say the summer veggies are about finished up. So I’ve really got to focus on my fall crops.

The broccoli and beets are looking really good. And there have been no further incidents with Ms. Pepper so I’m feeling good about their survival. Cabbage worms still pop up on the broccoli plants but we’re trying to keep them at bay by picking them off.

 

The spinach and spring onion have been the slowest to get going.

Spring Onion

This may be because the tomato plants really took over next to them and blocked out some sun. Unsure but I hope I get bigger leaves before it’s too cold to garden!

Spinach

Any suggestions to get this Spinach to grow any faster or how I can gain more patience? lol Thanks for checking in! I’ll leave you with some more fall inspiration…

I think I need some Pumpkins. What do you think?

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in October and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 30: Fall Color & End of Summer Crops

  1. Yes one pumpkin on the step should do it, hopefully it won’t end up smashed. I hope you put your front porch light on at night for all to enjoy, it looks great.

Leave a Reply

