Week 22: Summer Vegetable Overload

I’m totally overloaded with tomatoes! 3 Cherry Tomato plants plus 3 Roma Tomato plants = Hard to keep up with.

Unfortunately some of the tomatoes are even rotting on the vine or getting eaten by little pests like birds and bugs. Since we are in the full glory of tomato season, it’s hard to give these ‘maters away as everyone is fully loaded.

 

I’m trying to keep up with the harvesting and cooking but just imagine getting tomatoes like these about every 3 days… (The flip flop has no rhyme or reason in this pic. It’s just there being flippy and floppy.)

I’ve been making sauce and recipes endlessly with summer tomatoes. My poor fiance has gotten to the point where he’s asking, “Are you making anything without tomatoes tonight?” Haha. For example:

I made Fantastic World Food’s Sloppy Joes with fresh tomatoes and peppers for the garden…

 

As well as a large White Bean and Kale vegetable soup with….fresh tomatoes:

And I’m making tomato basil salads, eating tomatoes on the fly, roasting them….It’s sort of like Bubba Gump’s combinations for shrimp.

It looks like our one cherry tomato plant is wrapping up production… No flowers, no green tomatoes on the vine. I’m hoping to rip that out and plant the fall crops there as well as where the carrots were.  BTW–My zucchini didn’t make it. The borers won the battle. So there’s going to be even more space once I clear that out.

Peppers are still looking and tasting good.

 

Next week I’ll be planting my fall seeds/seedlings so check in and let me know what you’re planting. I found some Spinach seeds and Spring onion seeds and think they’ll be a great edition to the Fall garden 🙂

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in August and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 22: Summer Vegetable Overload

  1. I really enjoyed your blog. I’m sure your fiance is secretly happy that he is eating fresh food!

Leave a Reply

