Week 21: Attack of the Killer Squash Bugs & Tomatoes

Over the last few posts, I’ve been trying to figure out why my zucchini has been so sick. Turns out I have squash bugs also known as Coreidae. This insect prefers to eat squashes like my zucchini and pumpkins. They live at the base or in the root system in and eat. Then lay their eggs on the plant as well so when the baby bugs hatch there’s plenty to eat. want a close up of these squash suckers?

Squash Bugs

Squash Bug Eggs

In my opinion, anything with an exoskeleton is not friendly or fun. So I did have to ask that e my fiance spray the plant with more Captain Jack’s Deadbug Brew. All those creepy crawlies made me weak. When he came back inside he said once he sprayed the squash even MORE of the same bugs came out from in the ground and….They were bigger!!! This would be my version of a nightmare. Total creep show. Thank goodness he did it.

Unfortunately we got a lot of heavy rain which washed away the pesticide.  No matter how hard the zucchini fought to live, I’m convinced it’s not meant to be. We’ve not upgraded to using Sevin  but I’m not convinced that’s going to do the trick and save the plant.

Somehow my tomato plants have remain unscathed and are still producing.

Same goes for the pepper plants, they’re happy as can be.

I’ve been making salsa, tomato-basil salads and sauce to freeze. Most recently I made a Roasted Tomato Vinaigrette…

I got the recipe from Kris Carr‘s Diet book.

You can see the recipe here.

In this next week I’m hoping to plant my beet & broccoli seedlings as they can’t live forever in their little trays. Until then just imagine that I’m cooking, baking, roasting, frying and seasoning tomatoes.  Got any vegan recipes for me?

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in August and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

