Week 20: Making Tomato goodies!

We’re in week 20 of my veggie garden and right now it’s all about using up these tomatoes! Cherry and Roma tomatoes are ripening daily in the garden. This is just from one day’s harvest:

I’ve been giving some away and making spaghetti sauce, salsa and vegetable juice with the rest.

Kim’s Garden Salsa

  • 3-4 Roma tomatoes diced
  • 4-6 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 med a yellow onion, diced
  • 1 med bell pepper, diced
  • 3 Italian long peppers, diced
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 3T olive oil
  • 2T Cilantro
  • Juice of one lime
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • dash of cumin

I would recommend fan frying the peppers and onions with sale pepper and cumin in the olive oil until onions are translucent. Mix all the diced ingredients and then refrigerate overnight. Serve with corn chips.

Kim’s Vegetable Juice

  • 3-4 Roma Tomatoes
  • 2 Carrots
  • 2 Celery
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1T Parsley
  • 4-5 Romaine Lettuce Leaves
  • One Handful of Spinach

Juice in your juicer and add salt to taste 🙂

In the garden I’m harvesting the last of my zucchini. So I recently made a chocolate zucchini bread & muffins using this vegan recipe. The only change I made was using applesauce instead of vegetable oil. 🙂

The cucumber plant has been a hilarious addition what with it’s round yellow fruit and confusion. However I noticed since we’ve been getting heavy rains the production of fruit has been smaller and smaller, so I ripped out the vines.

Now having removed one zucchini plant as well as the cucumber, I will have room for fall crops!!! So far I’ve got broccoli & beet seedlings lined up. Maybe these beets will turn out better than my last batch.:(

Broccoli & Beets

Right now the temps in Central PA are still in the 90s so it’s too early to plant these loves. So in the mean time I’ll be picking tomatoes. Hmm….Picking Tomatoes…sound like my next rock album.

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in August and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 20: Making Tomato goodies!

  1. Love the dress! And I still have a garden full of green tomatoes but I’m sure I will have a bumper crop very soon. I also picked all of my basil and refrigerated in plastic zip lock bags.

  2. Tomatoes look great. I hope to have some soon. Hot weather has been hard on them. They are only about 60% the size I normally have. The entire garden has been bad due to failure of my watering system and the heat.

Leave a Reply

