Week 14: To Prune or Not to Prune

These days my garden is looking rather lush and full.

Perhaps too lush and too full. This 8×8 plot can barely contain the Sassy Squash (Zucchini), Romance (Roma) and Cherry Bomb (Cherry) Tomatoes, or the Cool Hand Cukes (Cucumbers). These are each attempting to grow OVER the chicken wire fence we’ve got set up around the perimeter.

Cucumbers

I did have to pry the cucumber off of both the fence and the neighboring tomato plant. Both of which have grown over the hot pepper mix plant. I think that one is going to die. Then again, I think all my plants will die and they have survived: HOT summer sun, the dog, major rain and bunnies.

I am debating on pruning these from becoming one big green vine-y mass, but I don’t want to hurt the plant so that it won’t produce. Have you ever pruned these types of plants?

Zucchini flowers

In other news… the pepper plants, herbs and carrots are growing like gangbusters!

Carrots

Basil

Parsley

Although the Cilantro got really weird. I’m not sure why it became so sparse. It seems I never have much luck with this herb.

The current plan is to wait patiently to pick anything. So far I’ve enjoyed the mini carrots I pulled to thin out and some of those Ziggy Star AKA Hungarian Wax peppers.

It’s been delicious enjoying the few items I can eat now, I think in about 2 weeks…I’ll be in tomato and zucchini heaven. đŸ™‚

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in June, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

