Week 13: It’s getting crowded in here!

Thirteen weeks ago, I planted two summer squash AKA Sassy Squash seeds in my kitchen window. It is unbelievable to me that they’ve gotten so big!!

 

Can you see the zucchini??

The garden is looking a little jungle-esque. I now realize putting cucumbers, zucchinis, tomatoes and peppers in a 8×8 space is asking for trouble. On one hand, everything is growing extremely close together and preventing weeds. Then on the other hand it’s pretty crowded.

I guess in theory I can always cut back some of the vine plants that aren’t growing up the stakes.

Each of the tomato plants is surrounded by 3 stakes that have wire wrapping around them. The tomatoes aren’t tied to any of this, but instead are merely being tucked in. This seems to be working just fine. There are blooms and little green tomatoes appearing now.

You may have noticed the black tubes winding around my garden…

 

My fiance and I are going on vacation at the end of the month and I was concerned about who will water our garden while we’re away. Rather than bother the neighbors over the holiday, he suggested an irrigation system. Which sounds SO MUCH MORE complicated than it looks. What you need from Stauffers of Kissel HIll Garden Centers?

  • Irrigation tubing AKA Drip tubing
  • Anchoring Pins
  •  Gilmour hose splitter
  • A DIG Timer

Basically you measure out how much you need and decide how many feet of drip tubing to purchase. This has holes in it every 12 inches and will drip out water slowly into your garden over time. You can wrap this tubing around the base of your plants and attach it to a bigger tube that runs to your spout  (for the hose).

The anchoring pins make sure that your tubes are stuck in ground rather than dripping from high above the plant or inaccurately.

The hose splitter will have two spickets with valves that you can turn on or off the running water. This is so that you can have your irrigation on or off and hand held hose, on or off.

The timer will set days you want it to run (Mon – Sun), hours (run the water for hours or minutes) and what times (am or pm?) which you can also select multiple times a day.

So for example: My timer runs water daily, for one hour every twelve hours. I can always change this if it gets rainy-er out, but this particular week we’re looking at 90 degree days. Which is pretty HOT!!

Pepper has been working on staying cool…under the bushes in the back yard.

Other things growing on in the backyard:

Herbs!

Ziggy Star AKA Hungarian Wax Peppers

And finally, the vining cucumbers that I thought were dying…aren’t! Not sure what gave them the boost:

Any blooming and growing happening in your summer garden?

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in June. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 13: It’s getting crowded in here!

  1. Irrigation system is pretty darn cool. Get ready for your tomato plants to bend! Our garden is growing but about half the size of your plants, we need more sunny days…..

  2. ericbro84 says:

    NEAT!

    I know it is late in the season, but I’m starting a balcony herb container garden with some veggies thrown in. I’m gonna start it tonight and I hope it works. Anything to spruce up our semi-boring balcony.

Leave a Reply

