Week 12: (Re) Moving Veggies & Tied-y-ing up the Garden

It’s the end of the line for my lettuce, spring onions and spinach. I enjoyed plucking and bagging the lettuce & spinach for salads and juices but as my father says, “They’re once and done”. After your first pick they will become bitter, so it was time to pull them out and do some excavating in the garden.

 

On a shine-y day, I pulled out the salad mix, spinach and spring onions. This gave room for the zucchini to expand.

I  also moved two of my pepper plants…Major Tom (Bell Peppers) and Ziggy Star (Hungarian Wax Pepper) because they were in front or next to the tomato plants and that was just too much foliage happening in one space and come August I would be overwhelmed with greens.

Also, I had to thin out the carrots a little bit. And it looks as if they’re really taking root now!

Finally, I noticed there are lots of flowers coming up in my tomatoes, cucumbers and zucchini.

Ziggy Star (Hungarian Wax Pepper) produced a pepper! And I got so excited I prematurely picked it. Whoops!! 🙂

More pictures to come soon! Next week we’ll talk about tomato stakes versus cages, irrigation and tomatoes. 🙂

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in June. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

