Week 10: Dad’s Got A Bigger Veggie Garden

Memorial weekend was hot and humid at my parents house. I was very excited to visit for the holiday, anticipating swimming and grilling at our lake house…but first…I had to help Dad plant his raised bed garden. I certainly didn’t arrive empty handed…

From My Garden 🙂

but it was time to go to work!

When I pulled up to the house, my brother was shoveling out a truckload of mushroom compost from the bed of Dad’s Chevy (trust me that is important). Naturally, my little brother was THRILLED to do this on a sweltering day. 🙂

My brother would rather be….anywhere but shoveling mushroom compost. Oh to be 18 and bored again! haha

Dad’s garden will have tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, pole beans and herbs grown in a 16 x 16ft bed he built himself.

While the boys worked on shoveling, I took a little tour taking pictures of my mother’s patio and flowers. She’s got an eye for design if I do say so myself!

  

Once the shoveling and leveling was complete I helped lay down the weed barrier.

All smoothed out!

Seedlings ready to go in ground!

Dad says you have to overlap each row of the barrier so that no seeds or creatures get into your plants via a gap. We tuck in the side and cover the border and seams with dirt.

  

In my garden I have Pepper to guard (or roll in) it. At my parents’ house they need to combination of both the cat, Mavis, and dog, Mercedes to keep rabbits and squirrels away. This is probably because combined they might weigh in at 15 lbs. ha!

 

It was a long afternoon of planting and jesting but certainly a lot of fun! I can’t wait to see how dad’s garden grows.

Dad: “You are such a ham.”
Me:” Did you say something?”

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in May. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 10: Dad’s Got A Bigger Veggie Garden

  1. Justin Kovaleski says:

    These past few weeks have done wonders for my garden. My brussel sprouts and broccoli plants are over a foot tall. Beans and tomatos have flowered and are starting to bear fruit (and aphids…. those bastards). Scallions are about ready to harvest, although they have needed more time as a result of partial instead of full sun. Beets are ready. spinach is blowing up. Edimame survived some scary transplanting. carrots and onions are looking up (get it?). I even bought a grow lamp with T5’s to keep things moving indoors. If things go well I may even look into metal halide.

  2. leroywatson4 says:

    This is a big garden! We are getting a veg garden going here, it will be interesting to see how we all get on this year. We are mainly just putting things into the soil and giving them love (and hoping alot). So far slugs have been our major issue. Good luck with all things green. Peace, lee (www,thebeachhousekitchen.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

