Hurricane Pepper

Dogs are known to be man’s best friend…however to man’s fiancé, the dog is known as Nemesis. We’ve graced with a lot of rain so the soil is wet and that is heaven for our dog Pepper. She loves to roll, splash and dig into this mud. She’s taken out freshly laid sod and the horse shoe pits in the backyard.


When I returned home from work last week, I strapped into my favorite galoshes and squished outside to see the garden. What I saw was a bent wire fence, three holes and baby plants buried, spilled and ripped out. I was shocked. My immediate thought was that this was caused by a groundhog or a very angry rabbit…until I did the math. Dig happy dirty dog + holes + dog prints in the soil = Pepper Did it! How could she?! Aren’t we the garden team?!

 

 
I asked her about it and her only response was the cuddle closer as if to say, “I’m sorry but I just can’t help myself!” So for her punishment, I gave her a bath (much loathed by most dogs) and am publicly outing her as a rogue digger online.

 
After the rain subsided (a day later) the tally: 1.25 rows of carrots, no beets, cucumbers looking a little rough, 2 cherry and 1 roma tomato ripped out but replanted, one row lettuce untouched (who knows), 2 spinach, two peppers (one buried and in need to be replanted).


Since I didn’t want to be down and out some plants, so I added 2 more roma tomatoes (in case the others were traumatized), one more cherry, a bush cucumber and two more pepper plants. Bought these seedlings from Stauffers of Kissel Hill Garden Centers.

Let me introduce you tot he newbies:

Jean Jeany…the bush cucumber plant. No vines!

Ziggy Star the Hungarian Wax Pepper:

And, Major Tom, the red & green pepper plant:

As these grow, I’ll be making sure the dog doesn’t dig them up, bunnies don’t eat them and that they get the TLC they need…in my dinner.

Chopped herbs from the garden with sun dried tomatoes.

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in May. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hurricane Pepper

  1. I’m so worried my dog is going to destroy my garden if I start planting everything… At east you managed to salvage some of it

  2. Pingback: 2013 Spring Garden! Week 1 | Kim's Second Veggie Garden

  3. Pingback: Week #5: Planting! | Kim's Second Veggie Garden

  4. Pingback: Week 9/10: Garden is Planted Outside! | Kim's Veggie Garden

  5. Pingback: 2013 Week 11: Pepper is Digging the Potatoes | Kim's Veggie Garden

Leave a Reply

