Week 8: Eating Veggies – Dinner for who?

Finally now in week 8 the lettuce and herbs are ready to be harvested. Which means delicious veggie dishes from garden to table. THAT’S exciting! But I’m not the only one thrilled for a homegrown delicious meal. Guess who is coming to dinner in my garden? A bunny rabbit. Right now he prefers to dine on my Beets…

Image Image

My raised bed is surrounded with wire, so how exactly did this little critter get into club garden? Well the breech in security happened near the “door”. My fiancé built the bed with the posts along the outside with about 1 foot high wire along the outside, with the exception of one spot. This is where you could peel back the wiring and stop inside.

The wascaly wabbit wiggled under this little opening and had a feast. Once he got his fill on beets he left. I am surprised he didn’t do any damage to the lettuce. That’s looking good to me. I hope my beets continue to grow in ground as the rabbit only ate the leaves.

Our dog is doing her part by chasing every rabbit in sight but she isn’t out on patrol often enough, so for now we’ve secured the fence completely. I will now step over it to get into the garden. Hopefully this will keep the bunnies at bay.

I’m not sure if I’m over watering or under watering my tomatoes and squash plants, but is it me or are they looking a little yellow??

Image

Cherry Tomato

Image

Roma Tomato

Image

Squash…not feeling so sassy

Not sure where to go from here, but I am going to refrain from watering the next few days as it’s supposed to shower. Then I can size up what’s happening a little better.

For dinner the other night I picked arugula from the garden…

Image

And a combination of parsley & cilantro from their pots.

Image

Feeling inspired by my Ultimate Book of Vegan Cooking, I made Moroccan Carrots and Balsamic Roasted Tomatoes with Basmati Rice.

Image

Image

I used the herbs in the carrots and arugula with the rice. It was delicious.

Nothing is more convenient for a cook than having fresh herbs and produce right outside of your door.

Happy Gardening!

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in May, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 8: Eating Veggies – Dinner for who?

  1. Pingback: Week 20: Making Tomato goodies! | Kim's Second Veggie Garden

Leave a Reply

