Week 5: Good Weather, Bad Weather

Anyone who lives in Central Pennsylvania will tell you, the weather has been all over the place!

We’ve experienced high temps in the mid 80s and snow warnings all within the last week. This makes it hard for any gardener to determine when is the right time to put seedlings out and when to cover existing in ground plants.

In the beginning of this past week, when I was wearing shorts outside, I decided to transplant my spinach. AKA Popeye Power!

Since I used cowpots, I can just plant the whole seedling and pot right in ground.  The pot will breatk down in the soil and act as a fertilizer. On a side note: these pots may be made of cow manure but they don’t smell like it. 🙂

I considered planting the rest of the seedlings, but decided to follow the old school rule of planting after Mother’s Day. Which was a good change of heart as you’ll soon read.

The seedlings are getting a touch unruly in their little window box, but I’m willing to put up with the viney plants for another two weeks.

Exciting news: I noticed the squash & cucumbers are developing flowers already! Which means I’ll actually have more than one cucumber this year! (Unfortunately last year my two cucumber plants produced one lone cucumber.)

A few days after I planted my spinach…the temperatures dropped into the 40s, the are experienced two days of rain as well as snow watches in effect! Concerned, I strapped into my boots and took a look at my baby seedlings to see how they were holding up.

Lettuce & Spinach are looking good.

Spring Onions looking a little whimpy

Carrots are well.

Beets are sprouting like crazy! I'll need to thin them out soon.

Worried my recently transplanted herbs would kick the bucket if left outdoors, I moved all of them inside for a sleepover to avoid the frost. Pepper (the dog) didn’t seem to mind the pots by her dishes.

Hopefully by this time next week, the weather will be more pleasing and I will be able to thin out some of those beet & carrot sprouts.

I leave you with an extremely fashionable photo. Black dress pants tucked until royal blue wellies. Glorious! Feel free to rock this look in your garden after work. 🙂

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in April and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 5: Good Weather, Bad Weather

  1. chefconnie says:

    Everything looks good. Great post and love the wellies. I prefer to wear a dress with mine. 🙂

  2. VeggieKim says:

    Yay for Wellies! lol

  3. Patti T. says:

    Enjoyed reading your post, it is good to know that I am not the only one who has had bad luck with cucumbers. I planted two plants also and got the same result as you.

Leave a Reply

