Week 1: Setting Up & Seeding

Welcome back friends, to year two of extreme experimentation in my veggie garden! I’ve moved my urban setting into a suburban land with more rabbits and potentially squirrels. That being said I should also mention I have a dog I hope will scare off pests and fuzzy/feathered invaders.

Because I have moved into a bigger space, I’m doubling the size of my garden from a 4 x 4 ft raised bed to now an 8 x 8 ft raised bed! It’s surrounded in chicken wire and is filled with natural soil, mushroom compost and top soil. The good news is that if I need to expand Ihave space to do it since this yard is pretty large.

Last year I said I would grow veggies from plants that were already started. But let’s face it, I LOVE watching my seeds grow into seedlings and into veggies that want to be on my plate. So that being said I started the following Burpee & Lake Valley seed packets in their CowPots this past weekend.

My 2012 Summer Garden Seeds

I also decided to try to plant more herbs this year and seed those indoor as well. They will be transplanted into individual containers when it’s a bit warmer outside.

Herbs to be started indoors

Next week, my spring crops will go directly in ground. My fear is that we have one frost yet to come, and they will be killed. My Spring veggies are:

  • Rhubarb (p.s. I can’t even eat this until next year. I can plant them this year, but the crop will be too bitter to eat until next season.)
  • Spring Onions
  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Lettuce
  • Strawberries

Spring in-ground seeds

Note: If you’re wondering what happened to my carrot seeds….my dog ate it. Seriously, she got nosy one day and decided to poke into my Stauffers of Kissel Hill bag with all my goodies and chose to eat the paper on this packet. No seeds were hurt…that I can tell.

As I mentioned earlier in this post, I used cow pots to start my summer seeds in doors. CowPots are natural and can be found at Stauffers of Kissel Hill Garden Centers. They are “earth-friendly “pots you plant” are made with biodegradable, 100% renewable composted cow manure and once planted quickly biodegrade giving you the benefits of manure and allowing roots to quickly expand and grow a stronger, healthier plant.( from the CowPots website).” I used them last year and loved them. They just go right in ground. 🙂

CowPots!

In the CowPots, I used Sta-Green Seed Starter soil and then I wrote on the pot with a marker what each thing is. I’m thinking writing with a chemical on these CowPots wasn’t all that wise. Can’t take it back now!

I ran out of Cowpots at the very end and ended up putting my herbs in plastic bottles. I’ve been people start seeds in egg cartons and left over yogurt cups, so this should work out just fine! Recycling and Reusing felt pretty cool though I wish I drilled a holy in the bottle for drainage purposes.

Finally, I put each pot in a try by the window with a lid on my seed starting box and plastic wrap over the top of the others. This is improvised gardening.

While I’m waiting for my seeds to grow up to be seedlings, I planted pansies around the mulch bed out front.

Here’s a preview of how it’s growing in summer seedling land:

If you miss my blog from last year, please visit it here: Kim’s First Veggie Garden. More shenanigans to come! Visit me again next week when I get down and dirty and plant in ground.

About VeggieKim

I am a twenty-something gal living in Central Pennsylvania aspiring to have my own edible garden. Follow me thru my trials and tribulations as I journey from seed to harvest.
This entry was posted in March and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.